• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Super basic how many plants question?

GraemeVW

I'm trying to work out what plants to order for my 100x40x50 tank.
I'm pretty new to all this.
Think I've narrowed down what I want to try but don't really know what amounts to order?
I plan on soil under sand, ferts, but no co2.

Current list is
10x bunches of cabomba aquatics
1x Limnophila sessiliflora, see if i like it
3x Nymphaea rubra
3x bunches vallisneria spiralis
1x pot? Lilaeopsis brasilensis
1x pot? Myriophyllum Guyana
3x Echinodorus Bleheri, might only use 1 though
Hydrocotyle Verticillata, pot, or some seeds
1x pot Limnobium laevigatum Frogbit

Plan is a load of cabomba, some vallis here and there, a sword in one rear corner, 3 lilys spread in the mid ground, some of the smaller stuff mid to front. Basically though, see what grows well, what doesn't.

I didn't really want that many different plants but want to try a few.
Is this enough to be setting up with though?

All depends what your budget is. As I’d say times it by 3 maybe 5 to start out with.
Really?
My list is £70 in plants, which is fine, but £350 in plants? Is that usual?
I'm a bit clueless at the moment 😂

I know its good to start with as many as possible though

Although really, I am looking at just a cabomba forest, so would be cheap enough to add a load more of that.

Ok to plant in 2 waves? Might have more of an idea what I want more of once I've planted some.

I suggest you can save money by not putting soil under sand. Even if you take a garden soil 'for free', you'll save a lot by decreasing losses of your plants. (My personal, well-meant suggestion. Some think differently, I admit.)
My plan was to use aquatic compost. I used garden soil in my 60l cube, which was pointless in the end as it ended up just with anubias and java fern.