• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

EI dosing,

tovtm

i have just started using co2 and wanted to know if i should use something like this http://www.aquariumplantfood.co.uk/spec ... 250ml.html

or should i do this EI daily method? the only reason i ask is i am a beginner and reading the first page or so i don't really understand the ingredients or where to get them etc where as the fertilizers i listed above is already made and cant really go wrong, but i want the best option and obviously value for money.

i have a 125ltr tank
2 x 40w 4' t8 tubes 7hrs a day
co2 running through a atomizer on my fluval 205 external
28 degrees
sand substrate with plant tabs

now i have a breeding pair of discus so cant have any form of dosing effecting these.

can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Hi tovtm

The link is broken at the moment.
Is this fertiliser in liquid form or dry powder?
tovtm said:
but i want the best option and obviously value for money.
EI is probably the best option for two reasons. First of all you will be supplying all of your plants needs. Secondly, that's about as cheap as you can dose a tank :D
If you decided to 'mix your own', you will need KNO3, KH2PO4, MgSO4 and Trace elements. That's it :D
It is entirely possible that you will not need the MgSO4 if you are in a hard water area, but it would be best to start with it and reduce the dose over a few months. If you see no change in your plants then all is good and you can leave it out.
The only thing I don't know is if this dosing will affect a breeding pair of Discus, as the TDS will change and I don't know if this will have any effect :?
It certainly doesn't affect the health of fish and shrimp :D