• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

First attempt at a planted tank

Ronoh

Hello all,

As the (not so imaginative) title suggests, this is a documentation of my first attempt at an aquascape. I've been keeping fish for a few years now and have had plants here and there, but I never really knew how to keep them alive. It's something I've wanted to really have a go at for a few years, and over the last couple of months I decided to have a proper crack at it.

My hope for this journal is to document my entire process, giving me something to refer back to what worked and what didn't. I also think it's another fun way to interact with the hobby.

For anyone who may be reading this, I absolutely welcome comments and suggestions about what I'm doing wrong or right. This is so new to me, I've already encountered many issues and learned a lot so I would deeply appreciate any feedback to help me continue learning.

This tank has been running for about 2 years with only fish and a roughly thought out hardscape. But just about 2 months ago (23/Sept) it became a planted tank. This entry of the journal will speak about the initial set up, stocking, problems encountered and my immediate thoughts after set up.

Aquarium - Nacd, 300 litres, 120cm x 50cm x 50cm. I'm kicking myself that I didn't get one of the more expensive Optiwhite tanks, but hey.
Light - Fluval Aquasky LED 2.0 33w. I got this when I first got the tank. I'm aware it isn't the most powerful light, but I think it's okay for what I need?
Filter - Is an All Pond Solutions 1000EF. I got this when I first got the tank and it's high on the list of things to replace. Although what I'll probably do is just add a second, more powerful filter.
Co2 - 2L fire extinguisher with FZONE single stage regulator and Co2 Art inline diffuser