• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hello from Aberdeen

Philip

Seedling
Hi there,

I thought I'd best sign up to somewhere in order to help me keep a decent track of my tank progress, and more importantly get some advice!

I've been keeping fish for about a year now, starting off with a wee 19L Fluval Chi which was a new house present from my fianceé. This was a nice little tank, but the filtration system wasn't great (not to mention I was a total novice at that point) and I was also pretty quickly addicted so I was after something bigger!

I purchased a Juwel Rio 125 that came up for sale locally, which was a fair step up from the Chi. It took a while to clean up, but it was worth the time and has been running for a fair while now. This was decorated mostly with plastic stuff and I was running the internal filter / heater, but only had a small LED light and an internal light as it never came with the lighting unit or lid as standard. I've a fair selection of fish in it, all little and easy things like neons, guppies and platys. A few months ago I decided to plant it with some live plants, most of which have survived, but a handful have died. This was a learning curve as I wasn't fast enough at removing a couple of the dead plants which I recon spiked the water and killed a few of my shrimps. I'll get some photos of how it's sitting now soon!