• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Light upgrade for Fluval Spec V

JamieB

Hi all

Looking for a new light for my Fluval Spec V which is stocked with all easy plants (other than carpet which is medium but only due to needing higher light) and looking to upgrade the light.

I've found the Finnex Fugeray 16" or the 20" will work depending on how it sits on the tank but I can't get these in the UK.

I have found the Arcadia Classica Strech LED but not sure if this is any good or not? It's fairly well priced which is a bonus but not sure if there is something out there that's better for similar money or not much money? Money is fairly tight at the moment so don't want to spend a fortune.

Cheers!

Hi JamieB,

I recently upgraded my lighting based on recommendation from one of the UKAPS members. I am a newbie when it comes to aquatic lighting and plants so just went for it last week.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Aquatlantis...upplies_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=0ZP89SEDQ64WK3NQ8729

My plants seem to be doing much better as compared to the stock t8 that came with the tank. You can the size you are looking for.
Here's a good video to see how it works :)

Hope this helps.

The above lights are very good, actually stating the lumen output which is virtually the same as a T5 HO tube, but uses less power. A super easy way of upgrading T8 fittings.

I don't actually have a light fixture that takes tubes so not sure this solution would be ideal?

I am not quite sure how you can manage this on the Fluval Spec V.

It is however pretty adaptable, you don't need a T8 fitting. It can be suspended with the 2 arms that come with the light or you can buy suspension cables to attach it above the tank. The video shows the 3 ways it can be attached.