• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Moving from a reef background

nphsmith

Hello all. This is my first post on this forum - I hope it won't too ignorant or rambling. I have been running a 500 litre reef tank at my office for the last 20 months, as well as (helping) with my daughter's 2-foot tropical community tank.

At Aquatics live 2012 my daughter and I were both inspired by some of the planted tanks we saw, and had some nice chats with UKAPS members.

I have finally received permission from my wife to put a small tank in the corner of our living room. The space I have is exactly 45*45 centimetres.

The sort of thing I have in mind creating is something along the lines of:
SuperWen's 2012 Aquascapes | UK Aquatic Plant Society - though if I can get anywhere near 25% as good on a first attempt I will be more than delighted!

I'm intending to get a TMC Signature Optiwhite - either 45*45*45 or 45*45*30, along with accompanying stand. My current thought is to get the 45cm high version as it will allow me to increase the 3D sense of the tank - but I am open to being advised it is a mistake.

My also current thought is to get a single Grobeam 1000ND tile. Again, very open to being told this is a mistake.

I live in London so the water is very hard (Comes out of the tap at 18GH, 8.3PH). I have access to RO water (from my office reef setup). Should I just accept that I have hard water and go for only plants that will survive that? Or should I mix say 50% RO and 50% tap? Or just RO and mineralize it (If that is a word - and if so can someone point me to a guide)?