• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

My 120L Soil tank

daizeUK

After suffering BBA meltdown in my last attempt at a scape, PinkMummy79's success story has inspired me to try a soil tank along with the invaluable guidance of members like Troi and ScienceFiction.

I'm going for something simple with not too much hardscape, mineralized topsoil substrate with a cap of Unipac Samoa coarse sand. The intention is no ferts or CO2, for as long as I can get away with it!

This was immediately after planting:
23Jun_zpsx9y6q66p.jpg

and two weeks later:
6Jul_zps88fxy0mc.jpg

Many of the plants are a bit of an experiment for me as I've never tried them before. I'm relying on staples like crypts and hygrophila which have done well for me before and on echinodorus species which I hope will appreciate the soil substrate. There's also some experimental alternathera cardinalis & reineckii mini, lilaeopsis brasiliensis, monte carlo and an aponogeton back left which is just sprouting nicely and I hope will fill out in front of the filter intake.

The plants are still busy switching to immersed form and I guess are probably running out of their stores of carbon about now so I'm bracing myself for a bit of a meltdown within the next week or two!

Lighting is 2x T8 15W bulbs, an Arcadia Tropical & Freshwater combination which was recommended to me by Troi and I'm really enjoying the rich colours it brings out. I've got these on for 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours in the evening with a 4 hour siesta in between. There's also a TMC Aquabar LED nestled in between the T8 bulbs which provides a 2 hr 'noon' burst during each photoperiod. That's on a dimmer switch so it's currently on half power and I can increase or decrease as needed.