• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Probably Crazy Long Distance CO2 Idea

Mike_81

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to planted aquariums as you'll see from my post in the Journals section here.

Here's the situation. Please tell me if I'm barking up the wrong tree before I go too far down this road.

I'd like to begin using pressurised CO2 as I've been labouring along with a DIY Yeast set up which is woefully inconsistent. I was warned about this but thought I'd give it a try anyway. :(

Unfortunately I don't really have room for an FE near my tank as the cupboard underneath it has limited space.

(See pic)

8505122154_36e274a100.jpg

However, I do have plenty of space in a small storage shed which is next to the room the tank is in.

8504022719_a2d28c8f42.jpg

My 'crazy' idea is to place a decent sized CO2 cannister in the shed and run a length of CO2 grade pipe from it to the bubble counter and diffuser at the tank end.

I managed to take a poor panoramic picture of the room and have cleverly edited it in Paint to show a very basic route the pipe would take (there are already holes for the whole route).

8504740166_335347af1a.jpg

Would there be enough pressure in the CO2 canister for the gas to reach the tank over that sort of distance?

Does this have any chance of working or should I just look into small i.e. expensive setups which will fit in the under tank cupboard?

Any pointers would be great!

I'd say it would work but there would be a delay before the gas comes out of the diffuser. Much like we get anyway but for a longer period of time. Im sure someone must have tried this and can run in with an experienced answer.