A Second Filter?

sh4d0w

New Member
Joined
30 Jun 2020
Messages
22
Location
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Hey friends.

So I need some advice on weather or not i should run 1 or 2 external filters.

Currently have one Eheim Pro4+ 600 loaded with BioHome Ultimate with an Eheim Surface skimmer.

I have always kept saltwater fish and always had two externals (never sumped), does the same rule apply for Fresh?

I have no issues that i can see at the moment, water runs clear and fish seem healthy, not done a water test since adding 30 fish post cycle BUT only one casualty in 5 weeks and all look healthy. - will do a test :)

Would you add another filter ? If so, shall i keep the same or is it ok to mix it up? i really fancy the Oase BioMaster 600 termo.

I also want to keep a minimalist look of my tank - all pipework goes up an internal weir and one single outlet in the bottom of my tank - ill need some ideas on how best to arrange an outlet and inlet of a second filter, pipework will need to run in the weir.

This is Day 10

IMG_4816.jpg

IMG_4353.jpg
eheim-incpiria-mit-led-beleuchtung-25f561714233c8_720x600.jpg
 

castle

Member
Joined
19 Dec 2015
Messages
507
Location
norfolk
I think the pumps a little weak for that tank, but running two isn't super common in freshwater but it doesn't hurt.

I don't know why, but the tank still looks a little young to be adding fish to (that white slime only comes about from recently introduced wood, and goes fairly fast). Order 3 or so pots of Limnobium laevigatum and get that in there, they'll tell you more than a testkit :)
 

sh4d0w

New Member
Joined
30 Jun 2020
Messages
22
Location
Stockport, Greater Manchester
I think the pumps a little weak for that tank, but running two isn't super common in freshwater but it doesn't hurt.

I don't know why, but the tank still looks a little young to be adding fish to (that white slime only comes about from recently introduced wood, and goes fairly fast). Order 3 or so pots of Limnobium laevigatum and get that in there, they'll tell you more than a testkit :)
Perhaps i should have added, the tank is pretty well established and is 5 months old.
IMG_7798.jpg
IMG_7796.jpg
IMG_7886.jpg
 

sh4d0w

New Member
Joined
30 Jun 2020
Messages
22
Location
Stockport, Greater Manchester
i know the old "if it aint broke dont fix" but i wanted to get the belts and braces approach boxed off now, if i NEED the two filters or if i will end up worse off by not adding it then id like to do it.
 

FishKeeper55

Member
Joined
20 May 2020
Messages
97
Location
UK
Can I ask why would you want to add another filter? if the filter is keeping water parameters in check then I don't see the need, you already have additional pumps that provide water movement so not so sure why would you want one.
 

Conort2

Member
Joined
16 Feb 2018
Messages
432
Location
London
I always like having two just incase anything happens to one of them I always have a back up running. However there is certainly no harm in running just the one and the tank looks to be fine with it, also in a planted aquarium the plants will be doing a lot of the work alongside the filter.

cheers

Conor
 

dw1305

Expert
Joined
7 Apr 2008
Messages
10,958
Location
nr Bath
Hi all,
i know the old "if it aint broke dont fix" but i wanted to get the belts and braces approach boxed off now, if i NEED the two filters or if i will end up worse off by not adding it then id like to do it.
To be honest you can look on the planting as your <"second filter">.

cheers Darrel
 

Similar threads

Top