• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Absolute Beginner’s Descent into Madness with a Superfish Scaper 90L

Poppins

Hello there.

So I was already into the second or third week of having a planted tank that I came across this forum, or rather, that I realised this same forum was frequently popping up whenever I wanted to figure something out. And it was perhaps a week after that when I found the journals page and thought I might like to start a journal. It was a bit too late at that point of course, and it took me a while to actually get around to it, so it’s a bit retrospective (I am now about 6 weeks in), a bit sketchy, and I didn’t take particularly helpful photos along the way. But still, hopefully better than nothing.

I should warn the faint of heart that I’ll talk about water testing a lot here. I know that a lot of users of this forum consider them inaccurate and pointless. Well, partly I was testing a lot at the start because at that point nothing I read had suggested otherwise. But also, for me as a complete beginner I still feel they are “good enough” to spot various trends and issues I might not otherwise have discovered (until it was too late anyway). I accept that they are flawed, and that using your eyes, nose and common sense is often more helpful, but until you get your eyes and nose tuned in with experience, these are not that much use either (and sadly, in my case, common sense may never come).

So, with that trigger warning out of the way, the story is ready to begin. Are you sitting comfortably? I mean it, there are a lot of words coming up, and the occasional badly taken iphone photo.

The Cast :