• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Absolute Beginner’s Descent into Madness with a Superfish Scaper 90L

Day 43 :

Planted up the Helanthium tenellum, aka Pygmy Chain Sword, aka Floaty Floaty Pain in the Bum. Oh my god I hate this substrate, or is it always this hard planting underwater?

IMG_7984.jpeg

First experience with Tropica 1-2 tubs. They seem pricey, but they can cram quite a few plants into those little pots :

IMG_7985.jpeg

In the end I found the fancy aquascaping tweezers were no use, my best bet was to hold it down in the substrate with thumb and forefinger, flicking neighbouring bits of substrate over it with the other fingers (the other hand was holding down other links in the chain to stop them lifting the whole thing up). After an hour or so of cursing and swearing, I got it in … mostly.

IMG_7987.jpeg

Try as I might I just could not get more of those roots to stay under ... and if I tried too hard the bloody thing would just make a break for the surface again. I'm hoping the roots will grow longer and anchor things better over time (and any new plants from runners figure things out for themselves). Fingers crossed, it's not like I've just added a bunch of creatures famous for churning up substrate or anything is it?

Oh.

Ah well, at least I’ve removed that HOB filter, with that blasting away the bottom of the tank (the outflow was near the front too) the Helanthium wouldn’t have lasted 5 seconds.