• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

CO2 atomizer and DIY reactor

Spanerman

Member
Joined
28 Apr 2009
Messages
105
I think few people on here are using those reactors with good results.

Araldite would glue those pvc-acrylic

:)


Sam.
 

Piece-of-fish

Member
Thread starter
Joined
2 Jun 2009
Messages
1,381
Location
East London
Thanks.
Do you think 15ml of araldite would be enough to assemble DIY reactor?
I am interested if this atomiser will work good put on the outlet.
I have a cheap reactor of ebay
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CO2-Carbon-Di...QQptZUK_Pet_Supplies_Fish?hash=item19b990c817
and it doesnt do the job good when put on the outlet, however does really good on the inlet, just makes some noise.
So i was interested if people could share their experience on the atomiser.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
UKAPS Team
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,829
Location
London
Piece-of-fish said:
I have a cheap reactor of ebay
I purchased one of these also and its pretty much useless, I did not like it one bit, just generates too much bubbles inside the filter and a lot escapes to the spraybar making it very noise.

Never used the one in the first post, but I have seen various references to it in the forum.
 

JamesM

Member
Joined
17 Apr 2008
Messages
1,903
Location
The BIG End, South Wales
LondonDragon said:
Piece-of-fish said:
I have a cheap reactor of ebay
I purchased one of these also and its pretty much useless, I did not like it one bit, just generates too much bubbles inside the filter and a lot escapes to the spraybar making it very noise.

Never used the one in the first post, but I have seen various references to it in the forum.
Surprising. I find my Boyu diffuser to be a brilliant piece of kit. Personally, I use it on the filter output and while I do get a mist in the tank its so fine it isn't noticeable from a few feet away on my sofa :thumbup:
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
UKAPS Team
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,829
Location
London
JamesM said:
Surprising. I find my Boyu diffuser to be a brilliant piece of kit. Personally, I use it on the filter output and while I do get a mist in the tank its so fine it isn't noticeable from a few feet away on my sofa :thumbup:
Maybe I had a bad one! I have tried so many diffusers that I have gone back to the first one I purchased LOL
 

JamesM

Member
Joined
17 Apr 2008
Messages
1,903
Location
The BIG End, South Wales
LondonDragon said:
JamesM said:
Surprising. I find my Boyu diffuser to be a brilliant piece of kit. Personally, I use it on the filter output and while I do get a mist in the tank its so fine it isn't noticeable from a few feet away on my sofa :thumbup:
Maybe I had a bad one! I have tried so many diffusers that I have gone back to the first one I purchased LOL
Try it on the filter output instead of the inlet. Mine was naff on the inlet pipe too.
 

andyh

Member
Joined
1 Jan 2009
Messages
1,920
Location
Derby
Hi

i am using the Up Atomizer on both my setups (fitted on the return) excellent bit of kit.. video and pics on my journal with a couple of pointers.

Andy
 

markus

Seedling
Joined
5 Feb 2010
Messages
5
HI all
have just joined forum and was wondering if you can get this type of inline diffuser to fit a 19/27mm outlet hose ....cheers ...Mark..
 

Piece-of-fish

Member
Thread starter
Joined
2 Jun 2009
Messages
1,381
Location
East London
Heh, thanks for the input, have forgot about this thread for couple of days. I have my boyu on the inlet and it did reduce co2 forming in the filter (used cheap glass diffuser into inlet before) but i find it quite noisy though. Must try to put it on the outlet as well and see if this will improve anything just to compare things.
Will consider trying the atomizer as well on the future project.

HI all
have just joined forum and was wondering if you can get this type of inline diffuser to fit a 19/27mm outlet hose ....cheers ...Mark..
You can but it will reduce the flow or increase the speed of it probably as it has 13mm or close to its inside diameter while your filter has 19

P.S.
i am using the Up Atomizer on both my setups (fitted on the return) excellent bit of kit.. video and pics on my journal with a couple of pointers.
Have just looked at your video and the atomizer looks promising... :thumbup:
 

markus

Seedling
Joined
5 Feb 2010
Messages
5
HI

Thanks for the link ,it certainly looks like a tidy piece of kit .
 

zig

Member
Joined
4 Jul 2007
Messages
686
Location
Dublin Ireland
nelson said:
markus said:
HI all
have just joined forum and was wondering if you can get this type of inline diffuser to fit a 19/27mm outlet hose ....cheers ...Mark..
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Aquarium-Co2-Atom ... 25574383e5

Similar question to the above really, has anyone got one of the large size diffusers on a Tetratec Ex1200, is it a tight fit? does it fit at all? would hate to shell out £20 and find it doesnt fit snugly. Pity the boyu ones dont come in larger sizes they are a quarter of the price for exactly the same thing but only fit the 12/16mm hoses.
 

bazz

Member
Joined
24 Jan 2009
Messages
331
Location
Lincoln
zig said:
Similar question to the above really, has anyone got one of the large size diffusers on a Tetratec Ex1200, is it a tight fit? does it fit at all? would hate to shell out £20 and find it doesnt fit snugly. Pity the boyu ones dont come in larger sizes they are a quarter of the price for exactly the same thing but only fit the 12/16mm hoses.

hi zig,
i use one of the boyu diffusers (originally bought as a cheap stop gap) on the outlet of one of two tt ex1200's turning over a 300l aquarium and more than adequately supplies it with co2, keeping the drop checker bordering yellow at about 2 or 3 bps using a jbl bubble counter. the hosetail on this diffuser caters for both 13 and 17mm inside diameter tubing, but i would advise the use of 2 hose clips as there are no built in clamps. there's been a lot debate about the inside diameter of the boyu diffuser, and the reduction in flow, but i don't think it is much different to the internal diameter of some of the tt ex1200 fittings. it has now been running absolutely problem free for over 6 months, and although one day i will probably buy a am 1000, it has certainly gone to the bottom my immediate shopping list.
just sharing experiences, cheers for now,
bazz!
 

fourmations

Member
Joined
30 Aug 2008
Messages
201
hi

does these diffusers "mist" the water?
i have a nice co2 delivery arrangement going on
but the mist annoys me a bit

rgds

4
 

fourmations

Member
Joined
30 Aug 2008
Messages
201
cheers for that, does it not bug you?

mine rolls around the tank and almost clouds the view
it a good sign i know, (the mist covers all the footprint)
but i does annoy me! id like a clearer view

an external reactor is mistless, right?

rgds

4
 

Dave Spencer

Member
Joined
3 Jul 2007
Messages
1,387
Location
N. Wales
fourmations said:
an external reactor is mistless, right?

Yes, it is mistless. I went over to a reactor because I didn`t like seeing tiny bubbles flying around the tank.

Dave.
 

freelanderuk

Member
Joined
18 Jan 2010
Messages
164
i have had the up inline diffuser running for 3 days now , i was on 3bps which i have had to turn down to 1.5bps, my drop checker's are showing just going yellow , i have no mist at all , i installed the diffuser in the outlet of my 2073 as close to the taps as i could, i am very pleased with this item and would recomend, as a side note took 7 days to get here from Hong Kong
 
Top