• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Critique my hardscape Complete novice scape

joker01

Seedling
Could any of you guys advise me on my aquascape. This is only my second time ever at aquascaping and I am currently converting from fake to real plants.

I want to get the hardscape right before I go ahead and order any plants.

Attachments

• IMG_20171228_145658028.jpg
    IMG_20171228_145658028.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 241
Joker
This is a personal opinion only.

I would prefer one type of rock as they blend in with each other and not creating a viewing confusion.

I would prefer taller rocks at the LH end location OK. Remove all of the other types of rocks first that will leave a big open central space to work with, either plants or more of the same rock, (LH end)

Keith:wave::wave:

For me it's a bit too much of everything. Two types of driftwood, rocks... But the easiest trick is the substrate - small tanks look much better with fine substrate. I like normal play sand or poll filter sand the best.

Firstly thanks for your feedback.

I have now removed all of the fake plants. Hopefully this will help better with judging the hardscape and I have also removed the driftwood from the middle. The rocks are not rocks as such more short thin slate like stone. Would I be better getting one large rock instead ?

nel. The gravel I don't want to change if I can help it as you can see the tank has fish in it and as I don't have a temporary area to transfer the fish I believe the best option is to leave the gravel in situ.

I have attached some more pics with the updated tank. Sorry the pictures aren't the best I only have access to a phone camera.

Attachments

• IMG_20171229_113558035_LL.jpg
    IMG_20171229_113558035_LL.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 145
  • IMG_20171229_113754891_LL.jpg
    IMG_20171229_113754891_LL.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 135