• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

German Rams COMING SOON - what are your top tips and tricks?

InNi2010

I've recently bought a Ciano Aqua 60 and I am deciding to keep a pair of Rams in there, along with a school of neon tetras and a group of Cory cats.
I'm new to the 'Cichlid world' and need top tips to keep the rams healthy and happy.
Lots of thanks.

Thanks.. was having a bit of a hard time with choosing tankmates that could survive in high temperatures :D

What are the water parameters?
Agree with @Conort2 and @dw1305 with the above advice. Getting decent stock is the hard part, trying to source uk bred fish is definitely the way to go with German rams.

Water parameters that have worked for me: Temperature above 25.5c, soft water (mines 1kh 2~3 gh, ph near to or below 7.

Adding these to a mature tank with plenty of plants, wood and leaf litter (tannins) will also give you the best chances of success.

If you plan on breeding these you might want to consider having them in a species only tank and push the temperature up to 27 ~ 28 Celsius.

Hi all,
Any tips for breeding?
Have a look at the <"linked article">, Bob Wiltshire ("ApistoBob") is a great dwarf cichlid keeper and breeder, and his pages <"are full of good advice">.
you might want to consider having them in a species only tank and push the temperature up to 27 ~ 28 Celsius.
They aren't the greatest parents and have a large number of very small fry, which swim around them in a cloud, up into the water column. This means that any dither can pick off the fry without too much of an issue.

cheers Darrel

uk bred fish
Luckily my store has many variants like golden, electric blue, German and the Bolivian (no dark knight/melanistic though).