• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Greetings from Buckingham

Simon Cole

I have been keeping fish for 20 years. I have a strong professional interest in water quality and environmental management. My first degree honours project was on the nitrogen cycle but I have a lot of experience testing surface water quality in rivers. I enjoy river angling.

At home I have 8 tanks. I never thought that I would get into aquascaping, but recently setting-up a hi tech Rio 125 gave me the opportunity to enjoy some really rare and special plants.

My favourite fish are my male sunset homey gouramis called pinkey and perkey. I also love my shoal of golden pencilfish (Nannostomus beckfordi). I prefer to under-stock and support fish populations through breeding.

My favourite plants at the moment is crypt var. hobbit, which I am hoping will go red, but I also collect Bucephalandra, and prefer dynamic and designed planting arrangements; I have a tree in one of my tanks.

My favourite rock types are schist. My father is a geologist so we have a great fondness for collecting igneous rocks, and I find this part of the hobby really fascinating.

I bought a CO2 Art system after reading this forum and I prefer quad lighting from iQuatics. I have also built custom LED lights, and turbo CO2 systems, but I am looking forwards to testing a new ISTA reactor. I am designing an anaerobic filtration system.

I prefer substrate capping with fine basalt or resin-coated gravels because I like to keep corydoras, and I find great beauty in variation. I recently set up my Dad's first tank, a fluval edge with a couple of pygmy corydors, a beautiful betta called Rob and sand substrate. It is the most low tech tank ever but looks fantastic.