• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hello everyone

Christie_ZXR

Hiya everyone :)

I'm still pretty new to this planting business. I've had my first sort of "proper" planted tank up and running for a good few months now. I've really enjoyed doing it, and the fish seem pretty happy with my efforts too :) (My cpd's were doing the circle dance the other day!! So I'm crossing my fingers and hoping like mad for babies!)
I'm really interested in Diana Walstad's way of doing things (got the book), and in learning about some sort of combination/combinations between her method, and the "hi tech" ways.

I still need to learn a lot of the basics too though! Like algae, what causes it and how to get rid of the bloomin stuff!!

Anyway, here are the two planted tanks I've got going at the moment;

Bigtankjustcleaned.jpg

This is the first one I've done. Substrate is soil capped with gravel, 2x "plant tubes" (I've yet to get my head around lighting properly! So I just bought the one's with "for plants" written on the packets!!) DIY co2 made with yeast and sugar, which so far so good seems to be working a treat, although I'm liking the idea of making a kit from a fire extinguisher, so I may swap to that at some point for better control. I do like DIY stuff, it's really satisfying when it finally goes right! Powerhead on the left (which also blows the co2 about) fluval 305 filter, and I'm currently experimenting with popping 2 drops of jbl ferropol 24 in daily to see how that goes.
Fish are guppies, which I love with a passion! And celestial pearl danios who I'm hoping will breed, but I'm probably being far too optomistic there! Nature will likely take it's course and the fry will get chomped, if they even make it to that stage without the eggs being chomped first.

100_2120.jpg