• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Help needed please, (possible fungus?) just started again after 3 year break.

Jester

Hello all, I have not been on for some time but I really need some help with this one. If I had any hair I would be pulling it out.
I had been running a 55lr tank fully planted for 4 years with no issues. When Covid came along I had to commit to work in an big way (no stay at home for me unfortunately) and I was unable to carry on with my planted tank. Also need to do some DIY in the room my tank resides so decided to completely strip out until Covid had passed.
Anyway almost 3 years later and I thought I would set up again. The tank and all filter (Eheim ecco pro 2) parts had been cleaned and dried. Bought some JBL aquabasis substrate, new Higo Kamishi gravel, new Eheim substrat pro, ditched the Eheim mech in the bottom basket for sponges, course medium and fine. Then ordered some in vitro plants (Crytocoryne wendti Green and lots of Helanthium tennelum) and set to work starting my new easy 'easy to maintain' tank. All went well, 3 weeks in and the plants were growing well, I had managed to split the crypt into 5 plants from 1 in vitro pot. I had only planted the Tenellum one side at the front as I wanted some pogostemon helfrei ? but could not find any in stock. I got impatient and ordered more Tenellum and planted it in the other front side. 2 more weeks and things were going well still, I had no Algae and even the Crypts were growing new leaves. I also bought some Vallis and Elodea online (not in vitro) because I felt I needed more height at the back.