• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

how hazardous is stirring up the substrate to shrimp?

ElleDee

I need to break down a dirted neocaridina shrimp tank and I'll try to remove as many as possible before I start yanking plants, but it seems inevitable that some stragglers will end up exposed to muddy water. Is this going to seriously harm them or are they going to be ok if I catch and move them into an established tank as I find them? The entire nano tank is wall-to-wall crypts at this point and I just don't think I can find and catch everybody before I get started (though I bet I can get the majority with broccoli as bait), nor can I pull those crypts without making a huge mess. Am I overthinking this, or do I need to prepare for loses? I have never actually broken a tank down, so I'm not totally sure what I'm in for.

I've no experience with neocaridina but I can say that with Amano's I saw no ill effects from them being in the tank during a thorough rearrange that left the water visibly brown and mucky. Only one that had any issue was one I didn't spot going up the siphon because of how mucky the water was.

Never had any issues in the past with dirted or planted tanks when have a large shrimp colony in there.
TBh i have left shrimp in the filthiest water while i rest for few hours while scaping and planting up wood with no ill effects. I do always tend to leave an air stone running when doing a tear down and reset.