• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

Hydor Ext Heater for my Fluval 405

browning IRL

Member
Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
42
Location
Naas, Ireland.
I am looking at buying a Hydor Ext 300W heater for my setup. Has anyone used these or is anyone aware of any issues I may have using with my Fluval 405 ? Pipe sizes etc ?
 

misscaretaker

Member
Joined
21 Aug 2008
Messages
204
Location
Basingstoke
Hi, I run exactly hte same heater on exactly the same filter with no issues. However, due to the ribbed piping, I have hung the heater from a nail to ensure it doesn't work loose.Changing the pipes however will be a better option! Obviously the flow will be reduced a bit too, but I expect you realised that anyway!
 

browning IRL

Member
Thread starter
Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
42
Location
Naas, Ireland.
Hi Jo, Did you have any problems changing the pipes ? Was the flow reduced by much in reality ? Those ribbed pipes are just not easy on the eye are they really !
 

JohnC

Member
Joined
14 Nov 2008
Messages
1,067
Location
On a mountain in the Highlands of Scotland
hi,

i'm interested in this chat too. i am doing exactly the same thing soon.

Best Regards,

John
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
UKAPS Team
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,389
Location
London
Was reading about this too and somewhere there was mention that placing things inline on a Fluval was not a good idea.
Something to do with the hose clips on the filter itself poping out, but I haven't tried so can't say its true, either way I am going to get a Tetratec EX1200 instead.
 

Mark Evans

Expert
Joined
13 Jun 2008
Messages
6,484
Location
newark notts.
LondonDragon said:
Was reading about this too and somewhere there was mention that placing things inline on a Fluval was not a good idea.
Something to do with the hose clips on the filter itself poping out

i had this on my rena filstar. but it was my fault, i didn't do up the connector. water everywhere! :oops:
 

Similar threads

Top