• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

industrial CO2 recovery techniques and the aquarium

Vaevictus

Seedling
Since my tap water is really hard and contains lots of carbonate (CO3 2-) I thought it would be really cool if there was something I could do to the water while it was in the tank to convert the carbonate to CO2.

Well, it seems like lots of research is going on with carbon capture, to capture gases from chimneys etc and capture the CO2 in solution, then later recover the CO2 from the solution.

I came across this PDF http://www.netl.doe.gov/publications/pr ... ue_194.pdf

It's a while since I studied chemistry but if I am understanding it correctly I will try and summarise the PDF:

The paper describes a simple device through which you feed a solution containing carbonate ions (eg our fish tank water).
An electrical current is passed through it. The electric current causes changes in PH of the solution which causes the dissolved carbonate to turn into co2 gas.

The energy used in this process is very low: 0.57kWh of electricity needed to generate 1KG of CO2......

What I would like to know is, could this technology be applied on a small scale for the aquarium to produce CO2 from the natural hardness in the water? People with soft water could buy sodium hydrogen carbonate powder (which I would imagine is dirt cheap) and make up strong solutions to feed this device and get CO2.

I have sunk a good bottle of wine so this may be a ridiculous idea :) I hope it could make some interesting discussion though

Vae

Hi,
Yes, it's already been developed. It was a construct of The Matrix and it's been a disaster at the hobby level for years. See the thread http://ukaps.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=3895&p=43209