• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Juwel Rio 180L Aquascape Diary

andeekaii

Hi Guys, I've been on here for over a year but never really an active poster. I've recently purchased a Juewl Rio 180 and i'm about to start my first real aquascape. Last year I made a DIY Co2 planted aquarium but that was a disaster (yeast leaked into tank while on holiday, came back to a green algae mess) But anyway, I'm about to try again!

Apologies for the size of this post but my aim is to create a kind of blog that people can follow, offer assistance, advice and maybe even see their suggestions in the final aquascape. I'm a relative beginner so it could also be helpful to other newbies, to prove it can actually be done.

Tank Information
Juwel Rio 180 (180 Litres)
2 x 45W T5 (Stock yellow and white juwel tubes)
2x 39W T5 (Sylvania Grolux (pink) and Phillips (white))
Tetratec EX 700 External Filter (700l/h)
Small pump from wall mounted tank for extra flow (200l/h)
2kg Pressurised Co2
Azoo regulator and solenoid (On its way)
Medium size co2 diffuser (ebay)
TPN+
1x Black Gavel Base Layer
3x Flourite Black Top Layer

Tanks Current State
So far I have added the gravel, and that is about it. Im making sure the tank is cycled before planting as I think i killed off a lot of the bacteria in the filter when I swapped from my old tank to this. Water is still a bit cloudly (not sure if its bacterial bloom or flourite) I've done 50% water changes, yesterday and today. I'm not dosing co2 yet and the plants in there are just because I had them left over, they'll be removed when I start aquascaping.
tank4p.jpg

tank3.jpg

tank2l.jpg

tank1.jpg

What I would like the final tank to look like