• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Lighting & plant recomendations for a beginner (190 L tank)

Kyle D

Seedling
Hello Everyone,

I'm new here and was hoping that you fine people could help me out. My girlfriend and I are in the process of setting up a 190L (50 US gallon) tank and would like to plant it. I am a complete beginner when it comes to aquariums in general, but she is only a beginner when it comes to planted aquariums. We would like to set up a nicely planted but easy to take care of tank and the main fish to be going in the tank will be South American Puffer's (and some other fish yet to be determined), so we would like to give them plenty of places to explore and hide.

This is what we have so far:
- 190 L tank (if I remember correctly the tank is around 45cm deep)
- Rena Filstar XP3 canister filter (does 1350L/h)
- Jagr 150W Heater
- 2x Tetra Whisper 40 air pump
- Seachem Flourite Black Sand
- Aquarium Pharmaceuticals First Layer Pure Laterite
- glass lid
- Flourish Excel

The tank is used so it has this nasty blue background adhered to the back of the tank, we tried pulling it off but it just separated from the paper. With that in mind we'd like to do a moss wall on the back of the tank to hide that and also hid the heater, air line tubing and tubes for the filter.

My girlfriend was also thinking of mixing in some pool filter sand with the Fluorite Black to be a little more economical.

So, with the above in mind we think we have pretty much everything we need accept for the lighting and of course the plants.