• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

new substrate

Balders

Seedling
Hi all
Me thinks i need to change my substrate could someone recommend one or two types,total nooby. my tank has been running for around 4 years looking to moderate plant and will be adding FE Co2 system.Hope someone can help
Paul :thumbup:

A lot depends on your budget?
Some substrates are very cheap & work as good as others costing much more however there are some very good substrates that cost that bit more & give that bit more....
Examples might be - hard baked clay cat litter with a base of slow release fertiliser for a few quid or very expensive ADA substrate from the master costing loads of quids!

There's a few, you have the trusty tesco cat litter that a fare few of us on here use and is ridiculously cheap, then you've got your big standard pea gravels, quartz gravel, Eco complete and flourish, then you move on ro things like ada soils which contains nutrients and you pay for what you get with that. It depends on what budget you have in mind. Maybe take a look in the substrate section on the forum mate. There's lots of good advice on there. That's where I came across my preference. All of the sponsors on here sell a range of them.

Ps fox fish just got there first lol

Hi all
thanks for all the advice i think more research is needed i was not look to spend £££'s so may look at kity cat litter !!, your advice is now taken on board !!

Paul :clap:

Highly recommend Eco Complete - probably have to buy on online though haven't seen it stocked often.

Would the cat litter linked above be safe as a swap for the gravel I have in at the minute, I have fish so wouldn't want to be poisoning them? Also, is the litter rinsed before adding to the tank?