Nutrient Rich Substrate that sand can go on top off

Discussion in 'Substrates' started by tommyleestaples, 9 Jan 2010.

  1. tommyleestaples

    tommyleestaples Member

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    Hi there, is there any nutrient rich soils that I can add sand to as the top layer?
     
  2. AdAndrews

    AdAndrews Member

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Kidderminster, Worcs
    products such as tropica plant substrate need to be capped with something like sand, although, my experience with tropica substrate was pretty bad, it clouds the water badly if you re-plant or take plants up. This may be minimalised with heavy capping, i had about 2 inches on top of it.
     
  3. tommyleestaples

    tommyleestaples Member

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    I was considering layering. If I put Eco Complete on the bottom with a layer of gravel on top and then fine sand. Would this act as a barrier and stop stand falling through.
     
  4. AdAndrews

    AdAndrews Member

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Kidderminster, Worcs
    grains of sand will be able to fall through the gaps in the gravel.
     
  5. fourmations

    fourmations Member

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    201
    +1

    i tried capping gravel with sand and it worked its way through the gravel
    in no time, so any of those gravel size planty substrates will be the same

    flourite sand?

    rgds

    4
     
  6. karl1987

    karl1987 Member

    Joined:
    14 May 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Ive always found JBL AquaBasis to be very good.
     
  7. tommyleestaples

    tommyleestaples Member

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    Mixed opinions I may use a layer of laterite with Flourite Black sand on top then with my lighter sand on top that way it shouldnt seep through the Flourite Sand Substrate.
     
  8. Robert1979b

    Robert1979b Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Tommy

    If i remember rightly Tom Barr wrote an article years ago about using soil (I don't think he used aquatic or pond soil but that may be easier) mixed with sand about 1:1 at the bottom and plane sand on top. With any layered substrate you are going to get problems during maintenance and re-planting.

    Why do you want a layered substrate?

    Rob
     
  9. tommyleestaples

    tommyleestaples Member

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    Because I want to use light coloured sand as the substrate.
     
  10. Dave Spencer

    Dave Spencer Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    N. Wales
    Why not just go for a 100% sand substrate?
     
  11. tommyleestaples

    tommyleestaples Member

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Sidcup, United Kingdom
    It wont provide nutrients via the roots.
     
  12. Dave Spencer

    Dave Spencer Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    N. Wales
    Mine was a slightly loaded question, expecting the answer you gave.

    A nutrient rich substrate is not a necessity. Whilst nutrients via the substrate and water column is the most desirable situation, a planted tank with an inert substrate, but adequately nutrient rich water column will still grow plants very successfully.

    If you just chose something like Argos play sand, possibly alongside TPN+ should the water column require dosing, you then end up with the type of look you want with the substrate, and it is cheaper.

    Dave.
     
  13. Goodygumdrops

    Goodygumdrops Member

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Falkirk,Scotland
    Damn that about Tropica plant base,I've just ordered a bag!!I've currently got a tank running 100% sand that everything except swords and crypts does well in,I target the roots of these with api root tabs in this tank (Argos playsand).
    In my 125,I have a layer of laterite (never clouds when disturbed,I believe this was also API),over which I have eco complete,with a black sand foreground (which is ever so slowly mixing with the eco complete).
    I'm about to set up another tank,with the Tropica plant base,pea gravel background and playsand foreground.After my previous experience I'll use a physical barrier to seperate the rear and foregrounds.
    On the basis of what was said earlier (I wish I'd known),if you want a nutritious bed that won't cloud to go under your sand,I'd go with laterite.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice