• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Overwhelmed newbie, please help!

Megann194

Hi all,

complete newbie but so happy i found this forums considering the overwhelming information that’s out there these days!

Basically, im planning on getting a 50ltr tank in the near future and i want to make sure i am as prepared as possible and know what im doing. I’ve had a read up this week and joined a few facebook groups but in all honestly, it’s left more confused than i was in the first placE.

I want to have a male betta in a live planted tank, preferable with a soil substrate ( im under the impression this is best option for the plants). I’ve also thought about having a ‘clean up crew’ in there with the lil fella too, I’ve been advised amano shrimp and nerite and horned nerite snails.

I’m under the impression i need to fully cycle the tank with plants before adding any live fish but can add the shrimp/snails during cycling process.. is this correct? I had no intention of putting the betta in until cycled anyways but adding the shrimp/snails during cycling thrown me but also.

so, without rambling like a confused lunatic ill cut to the chase. I have a few questions and looking for any good advice for a new live planted/betta tank owner if possible please

is it worth having shrimp/snails? Do i add them during cycling or leave till after?
is soil substrate the best way to go? If so which type/brand? And how on earth do i clean muck of the top without disturbing the soil?
whats the best plants for a beginnnger? and lastly am i biting off more than i can chew with this task?

Any advice is much appreciated and thank you in advance :)

Have a look at a YouTube channel called green aqua, they have a whole playlist dedicated to setting up your first planted tank.
This will give you a good foundation to build on.