• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Perspective of aquascapes, layout are we doing it wrong...

milesjames

So I've become a little obsessed with this... To me the forground midground background plants idea is all wrong...

I'm not sure if it is just me but I feel the idea that people putting the largest plants at the back and smallest at the front only, is sort of counter intuitive for creating depth...

I studied art at uni and currenty teach art, so have worked with perspective/composition for many years. In my experience placing larger objects at the front of a composition creates the best illusion of space/depth.

So why are we obsessed with making sure largest at the back smallest at the front???

Now dutch style which is what I do, does encourage larger plants in the front 2 corners to create the curtain like effect, which does sort of support this. But why not take this further and have larger plants taking over more frontal space....

Its not like an aquarium is 2d so actually you can look around larger plants as you would a sculpture. So in truth you could create far more complex compositions and layers if you put this into practice.

With my most recent couple of scapes I have started to do this, with a varying level of success. The only reason I can think for this not being standard practice is to do with flow issues.

Anyway let me know what you all think, I have attached a landscape picture as food for thought

Attachments

• main-image.jpeg
    main-image.jpeg
    327.9 KB · Views: 246
I think yes in principle that makes sense but the biggest issue with this is that slapping an echinodorus up against the front glass is going to mean that within a few weeks you're not going to be able to see the rest of the tank.