• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

Plants dying!

Danlyall1986

New Member
Joined
21 Jan 2021
Messages
12
Location
Macclesfield
Hello. I've had a planted tank for around 6 months and I can't for the life of me keep my plants healthy they all just die over time! I've got a twinstar 900s on my ea freshwater 900. I've got pressurised c02 at around 30ppm and I feed ea aquascaper 50% water change once a week substrate is aqua forest. Genuinely feel like I've covered all bases for what my plants need! Plants I've got are ludwigia mini super red, amazon, crypts, bolbitis, swords, bucephalandra and monte carlo all looking terrible after only planting a few weeks ago, no growth whatsoever! Any help would be really appreciated as the dreaded algae is starting to turn up now!
 

GHNelson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Messages
4,864
Location
Hemel Hempstead
 

Danlyall1986

New Member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Jan 2021
Messages
12
Location
Macclesfield
Sorry for the late reply. So my tanks 900 wide 20innch tall and 500 deep.evolution aqua freshwater 900 249 ltrs .my light is the twinstar 900s light duration was 7 and half hours but I've reduced it to 6 as I'm getting BBA. I've got a fluval fx4 and an aquamanta 300 for filtration. Substrate is aqua forest soil/Pete capped with seachem fluorite. Fertilizer is the aquascaper root tabs are by tropica. Pressurised Co2 is Co2 art with a 2kg fire extinguisher.
PH 6.6

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10-20
 

Danlyall1986

New Member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Jan 2021
Messages
12
Location
Macclesfield
Here's some photos
 

Attachments

  • 16114207229774084956780299181324.jpg
    16114207229774084956780299181324.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 33
  • 1611420744461515475998349116628.jpg
    1611420744461515475998349116628.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 34
  • 16114207572973108727899447154845.jpg
    16114207572973108727899447154845.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 35

Danlyall1986

New Member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Jan 2021
Messages
12
Location
Macclesfield
So my tanks been set up around 6 months I originally had different plants in and for the first few months they flourished then all of a sudden stopped growing and algae took over, so I decided to start fresh. These new plants haven't grown at all and some are looking terrible,, mainly my ludwigia super red and my bucephalandra. My tank is 00 wide 20inch tall and 500 deep.evolution aqua freshwater 900 249 ltrs . My light is the twinstar 900s light duration was 7 and half hours but I've reduced it to 6 as I'm getting BBA. I've got a fluval fx4 and an aquamanta 300 for filtration. Substrate is aqua forest soil/Pete capped with seachem fluorite. Fertilizer is the aquascaper AND root tabs are tropica. Pressurised Co2 is Co2 art with a 2kg fire EXTINGUISHER at ppm30
PH 6.6

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10-20

My plants are.
Ludwigia super red
Amazon sword
Bucephalandra
Helferi
Bolbitis
Monte carlo
And no idea of the others 😂

Please help as litterally no shop can give me any helpful info whatsoever😂
 

Attachments

  • 16114214460232729763863741555479.jpg
    16114214460232729763863741555479.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 36
  • 16114214624785192843014084899765.jpg
    16114214624785192843014084899765.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 31
  • 16114214750262868873962384991725.jpg
    16114214750262868873962384991725.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 37

Siege

Member
Joined
11 Aug 2017
Messages
1,248
Location
Cambridgeshire, UK
Please help as litterally no shop can give me any helpful info whatsoever😂

LOL.

I see you’ve changed to a spray bar as suggested after our 15 minute telecon! As discussed the outlet holes should point about 45 degrees upwards. Giving you a nice surface ripple.

As discussed it would be a good idea to change the drop checker to a better one. Then you’ll know if it is true.
How do you know the co2 is 30ppm?

The carpet Plants will always struggle with the hard type of substrate but we discussed this also. It may be worth changing this to soil, at least at the front.

On the phone you said the tank was an Aquascaper. The Freshwater one being much deeper will always be harder to grow carpet plants. Perhaps try a tougher less demanding one Tenellum Green perhaps?

Pleased I could be of help! 👍😂
 
Last edited:

Danlyall1986

New Member
Thread starter
Joined
21 Jan 2021
Messages
12
Location
Macclesfield
Ahh small world eh! I want actually reffering to our phone call it was more the 10 others I've had! I do apologis, im just highly frustrated! Feel like I'm killing plants hand over fist. All I want is a nice healthy planted tank 😂 I'm making all the effort to no avail. The fx4 I can't get a spray bar for are there any tips an tricks to sorting the flow on it?

45 degrees upwards? I do have c02 inline diffuser on it would it matter still poinylting it upwards? Would the c02 be less affective?

I got the 30 ppm reading by measuring my kh and pH before I added co2 and went off the chart to tell me what my pH should be at when at 30ppm (hope that makes sense)

LOL.

I see you’ve changed to a spray bar as suggested after out 15 minute telecon! As discussed the outlet holes should point about 45 degrees upwards. Giving you a nice surface ripple.

As discussed it would be a good idea to change the drop checker to a better one. Then you’ll know if it is true.
How do you know the co2 is 30ppm?

The carpet Plants will always struggle with the hard type of substrate but we discussed this also. It may be worth changing this to soil, at least at the front.

On the phone you said the tank was an Aquascaper. The Freshwater one being much deeper will always be harder to grow carpet plants. Perhaps try a tougher less demanding one Tenellum Green perhaps?

Pleased I could be of help! 👍😂
45 degrees upwards? I do have c02 inline diffuser on it would it matter still poinylting it upwards? Would the c02 be less affective?

I got the 30 ppm reading by measuring my kh and pH before I added co2 and went off the chart to tell me what my pH should be at when at 30ppm (hope that makes sense)

Quote
 

Similar threads

Top