• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Substrate confusion

Mirf

I am very new to aquariums so please excuse the possibly stupid questions......

I am trying to set up a (low cost) planted tank for 2 dwarf puffers. the tank is 10 gallon and will be running without co2.

I was advised that a simple way to provide nutrients for the plants is to simply put a layer of Hydroleca covered with either sterile topsoil or john innes no.2, (no insecticides or nasties in either) then a layer of either sand or gravel on top.

I have since been told by someone else that this will result in either an algae bloom or water so polluted it will likely kill the fish and to instead use peat....which I was previously told to avoid at all costs.....

I am now beyond confused! :?

I know purchasing the appropriate aquatic planting medium will be the obvious choice, but it would cost me in the region of £50 including delivery and that's out of my price range at the moment.

Any help for a cheap (prefferably idiot proof) option would be very much appreciated.

If you really want to use a substrate why don't you go for JBL AquaBasis? .. it's cheap enough and very good.

Still looking at £20 plus for a 5 litre bag ( I have no aquatic shops within an hours drive of me) :? Had a quick google and some reports are saying that disturbing it causes clouds of gumk in the tank and the sub is almost inert after only 4 - 6 weeks.

Do I not really need to use a soil substrate then? I just want something that is fairly low maintenance without killing all the plants.

Told you I was full of stupid questions :oops:

Try akadama plus some moss peat and some osmocote. Check the first sticky thread in substrates.