• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

TDS Discussion

sai_786

Hi Guys I Am New to this hobby and I am Holding 3 planted tanks at my home one for shrimp and one for betta and one for planted only first we talk about shrimp tank it was established by November 2023 with ADA soil and The Tank Parameters Are As Follows
RO Water 50 TDS
I Used Seachem Equilibrium 15 Grams To Raise GH to 4 Degrees .
PH 7.6
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10
Fertilizer Seachem NPK Fe And Trace As Per Instructions.
TDS After Adding Seachem Equilibrium Its 220 Is It OK To This TDS Or Will It Affect The Plants And Shrimp And Advice Me Is The Best TDS For Plants And Shrimp

Attachments

• 1706954666487109491292962358077.jpg
    1706954666487109491292962358077.jpg
    5.8 MB · Views: 52
Your RO water with nothing added is 50? It should be zero or atleast under ten.

What type of shrimp? For cherry shrimp, you really want you gh atleast 6. Equilibrium only adds gh not kh - you might could consider a shrimp specific remineraliser if you are just keeping shrimp.

Alternatively you could mix the RO with a bit of tap water to act as a remineraliser e.g. if you tap water GH18 then to get GH6 use 2 parts RO and one part tap.

TDS After Adding Seachem Equilibrium Its 220 Is It OK To This TDS Or Will It Affect The Plants And Shrimp
I'm not an expert shrimp keeper but a tds of 220ppm in and of itself isn't likely to harm them, or the plants. Most shrimp keeper's would suggest this should be lower though.
I Used Seachem Equilibrium 15 Grams To Raise GH to 4 Degrees .
The problem with Equilibrium, which has been mentioned in numerous threads is a) its expensive and b) adds loads of unnecessary potassium, around 46ppm K to reach 4 dgh.

"IF" you want to reduce the tds ditch the Equilibrium and simply remineralise the ro water with MgSO4 and CaSO4.

RO Water 50 TDS