• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Thinking of a big change and moving from my current set up to my first planted tank

PeterBD

I have recently joined the forum. I am not new to fish keeping. I have kept fish in various ways for over 30 years. Marine on 3 occasions (one was a reef tank), a community tank (but with plastics plants), however, most of my tanks have been African Cichlids which is what I have currently. I have got to the point where I am fed up with the aggression of the African cichlids and want a change. What I would like to do is have a planted tank with some more peaceful fish but I have never done real plants before. The first issue is my current tank. It is ok but not perfect. The lighting is the main problem so I am looking for a new 4 foot tank. Most these days seem to be open top which I don’t want. I am currently looking at getting a Seabray tank. I have 2 Fluval 407s and I want to install a Fluval Plant 3.0 light. I don’t want to go down the CO2 route at this stage. I have an idea of what fish I am going to keep but I am still in the planning stage. I have recently had an operation so I can't do anything much for a few more weeks anyway. The biggest issue I have at the moment is the aquascape and what plants. I prefer a natural look but I also like the look of some of the other aquascape styles so I think some sort of hybrid would be nice. I definitely want a mix of red and green plants. I am thinking of something along the lines of a V shape aquascape sort of resembling 2 islands from each end of the tank one side bigger than the other. Difficult to describe but I know what I mean! I don’t mind a bit of wood in a tank but not too much. I would prefer more rock and plants. The problem is I am an Engineer so my artistic ability is non-existent! If there is anyone in the South London or North Surrey area t