Thread Algae

Discussion in 'Algae' started by LondonDragon, 31 Mar 2009.

  1. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Hi guys,

    I have lots of this algae all over my tank and just wondering how to get rid of it??
    Seems to be more common in high flow areas of the tank.

    I do have 4500lph turnover in my Rio 125 which is about 36X turnover, but 1600 of that is filters.

    I dose full EI using JamesC all in one solution and not dosing anything else at present.

    Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Got pictures Paulo? Can't tell whether it's hair, stag or spyro when people use the word "thread". Is it real long? How much light ya got?

    Cheers,
     
  3. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Its this stuff Clive (photo not of my tank):

    [​IMG]

    Thanks :)
     
  4. Superman

    Superman Member

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    I might be wrong, only an idea...

    There must be a point at which the ferts and co2 is going so quickly over the leaf that the contact time with the cells in the leaf is so small that it hinders growth?

    I have algae on plants and wood only where there is the highest flow. I think the algae is on the wood due to the fact of the plants in the flow passing the algae onto it.
     
  5. Tony Swinney

    Tony Swinney Member

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    I think I've got a similar prob to Paulo - "hair algae" (mines black) on vallis and bolbitis, but only where its in high flow ?

    I'll get some pics posted up tomorrow, with more info.

    Edit: Now that I've seen Paulos pic, mine is definitely a different type of algae, so I'll post pics tomorrow in a new thread

    Tony
     
  6. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Yeah, that kind of looks like a variety of hair, which means it's CO2 related. What Clark says is a very real possibility in that very high localized velocity can reduce the CO2 uptake. Excel/Easycarbo with light reduction ought to resolve it short term, but long term you may have to experiment with flow redistribution such as possibly trying (gasp) spraybars. :rolleyes:

    Cheers,
     
  7. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    I am not sure if its CO2 related, if it is then I can't pump anymore into the tank, if I turn the CO2 up just a little more the fish start gasping at the surface, so its at the max level the fish can take it.

    Maybe I will have to start dosing EasyCarbo again, I stopped dosing it since it was having a bad affect on the Bolbits, or just get rid of the fish! lol

    I am running 144w of light over this tank, maybe I should reduce that a little, or reduce the burst period when all 6 24w tubes are on.
     
  8. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,126
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    Interesting thread this, whilst I dont have a hair algae problem I do have 18X turnover mostly from my 3000lph powerhead. It seems that high flow rates might actually work against us to a certain extent and that more flow isn't necessarily a good thing? I also have very high CO2 as I removed the fish and shrimp and whacked it right up.

    I cant see the photo unfortunately, do you have shrimp there there? I find they love green thread algae.

    Sam

    EDIT - this thread would seem to suggest not, however.

    viewtopic.php?f=21&t=5417
     
  9. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Its not green algae and the shrimp in there won't touch it, although I only have a couple of amanos and a few cherries in there now, the Bosemani make a meal of them. I have re-upped the photo of the algae.
     
  10. JamesC

    JamesC Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Bexley, Kent
    If it's not green then that probably rules out spirogyra. Most likely going to be rhizoclonium.

    James
     
  11. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Its more white than green and grows in single long threads.
     
  12. JamesM

    JamesM Member

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Location:
    The BIG End, South Wales
    Oooooh, I'd love to find out what algae this is, and how to get rid of it.. I had it in the final weeks of Evolution - in a high flow rate area too...
     
  13. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Errr..Paulo a peak energy input of 5wpg could easily mean that the required CO2 input level for that plant is higher than the fauna can tolerate. If you want to test this then get rid of the critters and crank up the CO2. While Excel supplements the CO2 it also kills the algae so that even if the algae disappears you really won't know for certain what the required CO2 level is. Alternatively, ease up off the accelerator and cut the lighting below supernova levels.

    Cheers,
     
  14. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Since I don't have an alternative place for the fish I am going to play with the numbers of hours my lighting is on and report back to see if that makes a difference. Maybe only have a peak of 2-3 hours at 6 tubes and the at just 4, from a total of 8 hours. I might start dosing EasyCarbo again and see if it improves things also, but as you say the later won't prove if it was CO2 or not. Many thanks Clive
     
  15. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    According to Dusko:

    Excess Iron? from the Trace I guess? could it be?
     
  16. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    I've always had mega-excess Fe and have never seen this symptom as a result. However, approximately 3 nanoseconds after my CO2 falters under high lighting I do get this. In my experience, increasing the CO2 and/or flow has had a 100% correlation with it's disappearance, so in my case I'm of the opinion that this couldn't be.

    Cheers,
     
  17. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Looks like I will have to get rid of the fish if I want to test all theories, but since its not possible at present I will reduce light and maybe add EC, if it goes away I can always do a test if I managed to place the fish elsewhere. Bosemani Rainbows are very sensitive to high CO2 levels, when they strugle all the other fish seem alright.
     
  18. Fred Dulley

    Fred Dulley Member

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales

    Believe it or not, I was going to suggest this :oops:
    Good luck Paulo.
     
  19. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,343
    Location:
    London
    Just a quick update, I lowered my lighting to 4x24w T5 and they are now on for 6.5 hours.
    I have also dosed EasyCarbo a few times and have noticed a big reduction in this algae.
     
  20. BINKSY1973

    BINKSY1973 Member

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Oxford
    Thats very helpful to know, as i have a similar problem.

    I have 2 39w t5 and 1 38w t8 lamp All on at 10am, off at 2pm, back on at 4pm off at 10pm.

    Co2 comes on at 9am and goes off at 9pm. Drop checker a lime green colour.

    Dosing James all in one too.


    I think maybe i need too change my lighting schedule, any suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice