• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Total newbie looking for advice

Nick potts

Hi all, first post and hopefully the start of a new hobby for me
icon_smile.gif

I am sure your all sick of answering these types of questions by now so i'll make it as brief as possible.

Firstly i am moving from reef keeping which i have been doing on/off for 10 years, i originally planned the move to a planted set up to reduce the amount of maintenance and time needed for upkeep, as i stupidly thought plants where easy
eek.gif

The tank i am setting up is a 55ltr, with a minimal hardscape (just 1 large root system)

Plant stock i hope would be dwarf hairgrass (Eleocharis Acicularis), Anubias and maybe a few other easy species such as swords, but as per the rest of the tank i am going for a minimal look.

Anyway a few questions.

Lighting - I have lots of lighting left over from my reef and would like to use them on the tank if at all possible, the lighting i have available is a 15W par20 LED bulb (http://www.marinereefled.co.uk/par20-quadspec-mini/) a 36W LED tile (http://www.marinereefled.co.uk/36w-quadspec-tile/) and an 18W 7K PL18 Compact Fluorescent Tube (http://aqua-one-parts.co.uk/aqua-one...aqua-nano.html)

Ideally i would like to use the PAR20, simply for cosmetic reasons, but i am happy to use any if they are suitable or purchase a new light.

Substrate - At the moment i have only used black sand in the tank, there is a no bottom layer of soil or other plant growth booster ect, would it be worth me putting in one?

Co2 - I never planned on running Co2 but i am prepared to change my mind, would the use of something like flourish excel be an adequate carbon source for my planned stocking or should i just bite the bullet and get a Co2 system like this one (
amazon_icon.gif Fluval CO2 Kit 20g Pressurised: Amazon.co.uk: Pet Supplies
)