• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Transitioning Aquarium Plants from Emersed to Submersed (Immersed)

MrBlobby

Does anyone have any good general tips on tansitioning ? I seem to be having some issues with my ludwigia palustris red

Putting the plants that were grown out of water in a shaded area can sometimes help them transition to life under water and then move them to a brighter spot once you have enough new growth to cut and replant them. Alternatively you could float the stems on the surface for several days to sort of prepare them before being fully submersed.

As mentioned above it takes time to adjust and adapt to reduced co2 levels.

Thank you for the advice ... I am running co2 and good light and just don't seem to be getting any new growth on these stems .... I am really new to this and seem to be having decent success with my setup in general but just this one plant seems to be struggling for some reason

Did you get it as a potted plant in rockwool, or as an in vitro cup? In my experience the rockwool pots transition much better than the in vitro cups. Here's a link to a time-lapse of Ludwigia palustris mini 'Super Red' from a rockwool pot transitioning: Ludwigia palustris - Fireplace aquarium there is clear evidence of transitioned leaves on top after 6 days in a CO2-injected aquarium and it's all good thereafter. I subsequently tried this again with the same plant a few years later except starting from an in vitro cup in the exact same aquarium and had no success at all.