• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

An adventure begins...

Hi everyone,

This is my first real venture into the realms of planted tanks. I have kept plants before in my nano (15 litre) tank but that does not even compare to this project.
Before I go off to university next year, my parents had finally agreed to let me set up a planted discus tank for the living room. We managed to find a used 300L tank with all the equipment for £300. The tank had only been used for around four months so I snapped it up straight away.

Afterwards, I made a quick trip to the Green Machine, where I managed to find some great hardscape material. I also bought a couple of bags of aquasoil and a few tropica 1-2-grow packs. All this was done around November this year and I guess this journal will be a display of the tanks progression over time. This is my first time using a forum too so please bare with me :)

George K.

IMAG1266.jpg

I absolutely love this piece of wood that I bought from TGM. It is the perfect shape and dimensions for the effect that I envisioned ...
The tank has the dimensions : length 120cm x width 45cm x height 66cm
IMAG1278.jpg

I wanted to have a hemianthus carpet in the foreground so I decided to try the Dry Start Method. Unfortunately, I was not able to maintain high enough humidity so the anibus attached to the wood had dried up by the time i got back from school. I managed to recover some of the pieces by moving it to another tank quickly. The plants attached to the rocks are called Riccia I believe.

IMAG1293.jpg