AS Amazonia II

swackett

Member
Joined
29 May 2008
Messages
439
Location
Epsom, Surrey
Has anyone used Amazonia II substrate that could give me a few hints on how to plant in it ??

It's just that the stuff compresses down when I plant meaning its hard to keep the plant stems in after you let go without backfilling which is a little hard in small/quiet dense planted areas.

I've been using it in a new setup now for 3 weeks, I've read it leaches NH4, does anyone know how long it does this as I still seem to have algae growing off the substrate :?

(Maybe I have a bad batch of it as people do seem to like it on here.)

Any help appreciated.

Cheers
 

Wolfenrook

Member
Joined
30 Apr 2008
Messages
336
Location
West Midlands UK
I am pretty sure that it's AS Amazonia that a lot of folks on here like, not the Amazonia II.

The only plant substrate I have is Eco-complete, however regarding the planting I would suggest using tweezers to plant rather than your fingers. It works in very fine play sand so I am sure it will work in Amazonia II.

Ade
 

swackett

Member
Joined
29 May 2008
Messages
439
Location
Epsom, Surrey
Hi,

Yeah I use tweezers, however as you push the stem in the soil just compresses and when you let go of the plant it just floats up - It's really annoying :twisted:
 

Ed Seeley

Member
Joined
3 Jul 2007
Messages
3,261
Location
Nottingham
I find planting tweesers help a lot. The only problems I ever have are with the fact that my Crinums roots have spread so far and bound the AS together. When I plant in these areas I have to jiggle the AS back to fill the hole and secure the stem. Not a major problem, but I don't have Amazonia II but the original version.
 

TDI-line

Member
Joined
11 Nov 2007
Messages
1,535
Location
Yaxley, Peterborough
I've been using tweezers on my Amazonia, but did find that 5 cm depth was not enough, and 8 cm + depth held my stems much better. But i am an Aqua soil newbie. ;)

Also i've used Amazonia 1 + 2, there is no visbile difference between them, except for there own unique properties.
 

swackett

Member
Joined
29 May 2008
Messages
439
Location
Epsom, Surrey
Thanks for the replies guys.

Going back to my original post, does anyone know how long it will leach for? Looking at a recent topic by Jonny70 am I right in assuming it will for at least 6 weeks ??? :eek:

Cheers
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
KAB28 Persisting ammonia with Amazonia Substrates 11
D aquasoil amazonia Substrates 1

Similar threads

Top