Do you need Pressurised CO2 to grow HC?

Nick16

Member
Joined
13 Aug 2008
Messages
1,769
Location
Surrey, UK
what size is your tank?

alot of people have found pressurized better than liquid co2 for HC. but it all depends on your tank size.
 
Joined
21 Feb 2009
Messages
333
Location
stroud, glos
Themuleous said:
Liquid carbon is ok, but plants have evolved to use CO2 not liquid carbon. If its a large tank, it can also be costly :)

Sam

why are ppl always saying how expensive it can be?

http://www.aquaessentials.co.uk/index.p ... ts_id=1809
this would cost £60-£70 per year in a 240 litre tank, which is pretty much the same it'll cost me to refill my FE's in a year.

am i missing something?
 

JamesM

Member
Joined
17 Apr 2008
Messages
1,913
Location
The BIG End, South Wales
To be fair, the dosing guide isn't great as most peoples idea of a planted tank is a tank with a few plants in, not a real planted tank with like 90%+ substrate coverage. I can easily double the dose of EasyCarbo without problems. And HC loves liquid carbon as much as it loves a good trim.
 

AdAndrews

Member
Joined
22 Feb 2009
Messages
1,125
Location
Kidderminster, Worcs
JamesM said:
To be fair, the dosing guide isn't great as most peoples idea of a planted tank is a tank with a few plants in, not a real planted tank with like 90%+ substrate coverage. I can easily double the dose of EasyCarbo without problems. And HC loves liquid carbon as much as it loves a good trim.


ditto, i have had success with liquid carbon and hc.
 

Slyspy

New Member
Joined
18 May 2009
Messages
21
I couldn't keep HC alive as a carpeting plant using Easycarbo in a Rio 180 with stock lighting. It is now thriving as a floating plant!
 

Superman

Member
Joined
29 Jan 2008
Messages
1,804
Location
Cheltenham
In my nano, HC grew with dosing EC, but you see a massive step change when I moved to pressurised co2.
I would say, you don't NEED pressurised co2 for a nice HC carpet but pressurised co2 will always be preferable.

Remember that with DIY (yeast) co2, that it can be a bit fiddly, cause co2 fluctuations and not all co2 diffusers can work with it (as the gas pressure isn't high enough).
 

Similar threads

Top