• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Sugars in aquarium

M

Marcel G

In my two tanks I struggle with biofilm on the water surface. It's not something really that bad, but I observed that when I use aerating at night, the next day the biofilm is gone. As I studied the problem more deeply I found that the biofilm is kind of protein or sugar film. Maybe there are more kinds of "biofilms" ... some from proteins, others from sugars (I don't know). My case seems to be more of sugars, because whenever I use aerating, the biofilm is gone. And as you probably know sugar is a food for bacteria, which need a lot of oxygen to transform it into CO2 and water (with alcohol or lactic acid as chemical intermediate/by-product). So it can be that if you don't have enough oxygen or you have big production of sugars in your tank, you have a biofilm or cloudy (milky) water.

I would like to know if someone have any experiences or can explain what could be the source of sugars in our tanks ... causing these biofilms and/or cloudiness?

My plants seems to be in a good condition, I have a decent light (70 µmol PAR at the substrate), big external filtr, good circulation, dosing EI, changing 50% of water + doing regular maintenance each week, not overfeeding my small group of fish, adding CO2 via reactor with green-yellow dropchecker. My plants seems to be healthy, although the Ludwigia is dropping some bottom leaves from time to time (probably because the light doesn't get to the substrate in some parts too well).

What should I do to solve this little "problem"? Thanks in advance for your replies.